Camp

jacey_little bit

The first "trail ride"

When I was a child I would have loved to be able to go to a camp of any sort, but HORSE RIDING CAMP?! Oh my, that would have just been the best! I was a horse crazy child with no way to have a horse. When I finally got my first horse, I was married with a child. I spent every moment I could at the barn, and had so much to learn! I knew virtually nothing about keeping a horse or much about riding one. I yearned for Pony Club for adults!

This summer, my grand-daughter, yes I have to admit I am a Mim..not a grandmaw or a grandmother, but a Mim, thank you very much, anyway I was able to arrange for Jacey to attend a week long horse camp. She had never really ridden before, so it was a new experience. She was both excited and trepidatious about the whole thing. She had never been away from home for that long. That did not worry me as she never meets a stranger, is easy going and makes friends very fast. I have to admit that my ears hurt though from all the questions she asked on our way. The farm is Silver Lining Farm in Mobile, AL. the url is http://www.silverlingfarm.net . It is a wonderful place for horses, dogs, cats and riders, especially young beginners. They offer a nurturing but learning experience for the campers, teaching responsibility as well as riding.

It was as much fun for me to be there with her the first day and a half. To photograph her excitement and learning experience. I was so proud of her. She seems to have taken to it like a duck to water…. I’m afraid we have another horse crazy girl in the family now.

About reephoto

Professional Equine Photographer, Member of the Vision 18 Collective, NPPA, NAPP, Editorial Photographers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

